Testimonials/References/Approvals

What participants have to say about the course…..
A collection of letters, course evaluations, emails and Facebook Posts.

 Approved_Star

 CLICK ON IMAGES TO ENLARGE THEM

Interview with Jeff McMullen after his completion of DT4EMS Instructor

Anderson County EMS Director:

Anderson County EMS (TN) Director from Kip Teitsort on Vimeo.

 

 

From a class in Michigan:

My name is Geoff. I have been a firefighter and EMT-basic/paramedic since 2002. I took DT4EMS EVE in October 2014. I have covered most of the demographic and geographic aspects of the job, save the major metropolitan. I am thankful that I have never been assaulted in my job, though there have been some near misses. I do unfortunately know some providers who have not been as fortunate and it seems to be becoming a pandemic.

I started following Kip and digging through the mounds of content on the DT4EMS website. I was hooked, Kip was talking about something I saw becoming an issue, however at the time I lacked the knowledge on how to address issue. The more I listened, the deeper the desire became to first equip myself, and then figure out how to bring this to my peers. I waited and waited, checking the website regularly for a class at least close enough for me to make it a reality. Finally Kip got close enough, I rearranged an entire week just to get the two days to go to the EVE class. I signed up and then asked myself, can I do this? There is no way in two days that I can learn even the basics of this “culture change” and the physical skills (they looked really complicated in the some of the accessible videos).

I got the pre-course workbook and study guide. I dove in! I again questioned if this was possible, can I really learn enough to protect myself, change my personal culture, and become a warrior for the change? The physical techniques looked easier in the tutorials, but I still wondered.

Finally the first of class arrived…I walked in with what I thought was an idea of what I was about to experience and learn, after all I have been following Kip for the better part of 9+ months now. Within the first hour class I realized a few things. First, somehow, some way Kip was going to get all this information to stick and be absorbed in just 2 days. Second that if someone was going to get you prepared for the physical skills in two days, again it was going to be Kip and his curriculum structure. Third that everything I expected walking into this class was about to be exceeded on a scale I was unprepared for.

The class was more than I could put into words. Kip fed a beast inside me, that now has an undying hunger for action and change. Since the end of the first day I have been contemplating the way to bring DT4EMS to Illinois and then to saturate Illinois with the knowledge. I am now jonesing for more DT4EMS and anxiously awaiting my chance to go to the instructor course!

After class I am more comfortable talking with my peers about violence in our job. I no longer wonder what I going to do if I ever end up in that situation, instead I know what I am going to do. Kip also opened my eyes to some of the crap situations we allow ourselves to remain in and how we have lost our neutrality. Since the class I have made a definitive effort to practice what I was taught, be more observant, I have gotten back to actively ensuring that the scene is safe, but I still struggle sometimes with letting my hands drift to my side or pockets, though I am getting better about it.

Just five days after I finished the class and only my second shift since the class, I put some of the knowledge imparted to use in the field. As I told DT4EMS “So I got one of the proverbial screw jobs from class tonight. The magical you’re unarrested and now are a baseless psych patient that has to go with EMS.” We were called to a group residential home, initially for a fire alarm, as we go enroute we are advised there appears to be a fight in progress and to wait for the police. We stage, the police secure the scene, the assailant has left the scene, we go in and secure the fire alarm.

The police and staff locate and return the assailant to the scene. Now the facility, who has state awarded custody of the person, want him to go for a psychological evaluation. In my mind I am thinking, no he needs to be returned to jail. So he now becomes my “patient” who I have no consent from and no truly binding right to treat from the facility. His body language is still one of an aggressive person who wants nothing to do with me.

So I get him to look and seemingly acknowledge me and impart the wisdom from class, telling him that basically I am not the police and have no intention of keeping him here. As we pull away I remind him to let me know if he is leaving so I can pull over. Now being more observant, I abstain from working on typing up my report, stay a little more on edge, and was relieved that the RN at the hospital figured out how to read between the words that I was speaking when I called in. As Kip would say “Culture=Changed” I AM NOT A COP, I WILL NOT TAKE CUSTODY

I have struggled to convince my peers there is a problem and that this is a step to correcting and protecting ourselves. I have leaned on Kip to garner more tact and knowledge to break through with these individuals. I even shocked my partner. I am not a fighter and haven’t rolled since high school wrestling. So my partner was skeptical of the skills we were provided with, he practices Jujitsu. So we agreed not to go to the ground or hurt each other…I gave him free range mugger’s choke-set him up to be rolled off the hip; driving choke-broke his grip and was gone, driving choke into a wall-left him having a close encounter with the wall; catching a hand-helped him study his palm and be set up to be rolled. Though not sold entirely, he was more than a little unprepared for my new knowledge.

I know this has gotten long, so I will leave you with one of the first things I told Kip after class- “This is by far the best class I have taken, related to my job, in the almost 13 years I have been attending classes. If my organization never reimburses me for the class and I never have to use what you taught, it will still be the best money I have ever spent.”

 

From a DT4EMS EVE4EMS/Fire class in Springfield, MO
I‘ll be honest and admit that I initially signed up for the DT4EMS class with a great deal of hesitancy. Call it pride, but after 19 years in EMS and a couple of years of self-defense classes (including competing in some grappling competitions), I was quite honestly skeptical that there was much they could teach me in two days that I didn’t already know. Nevertheless, I signed up for it after being urged to by some of my co-workers. 
 
I’m glad I did!  I found the class to be one of the most well-organized and entertaining classes I’ve ever attended. Prior to attending, I had envisioned some alpha-male dominated “Rex Kwon-Do” style class :), or  — worse yet — being lectured in dry legalese on the taboos of defending ourselves against aggressors. These concerns were absolutely unfounded and couldn’t have been further from the truth. The instructor was extremely knowledgeable and very professional. We were presented with entirely relevant and practical information in a fresh format, which I found both enjoyable and informative. With a perfect, rotating balance between classroom instruction, physical training drills, and educational videos, the class never felt dry or boring.
 
After leaving the class, I had a far better understanding of my legal rights and obligations as an EMS provider. Whether a new provider or a veteran, I wholeheartedly feel that this class will benefit you (and you will likely even find it entertaining!)
 
–J.B. (Springfield, MO)

From Jennifer Lawrence posted on Facebook after Dover, DE class (click image below to enlarge)


Jennifer_Lawrence_Post


Tri-State Ambulance (WI) (Click image below to enlarge)

Tri_State_Ambulance

 

 

 

 

 

An experienced ED RN writes: 

“ Having practiced Nursing for over twenty four years, I’ve received various specialty and instructor certifications as well as collecting letters of the alphabet behind my name.  By far, DT4EMS  has been the most influential specialty course I’ve ever taken.  The course challenged me  to change my philosophy  of nursing, change  the way I deliver safe nursing care and view the patient/family encounter, as well as enhanced my customer service skills.” – Ken King, RN

 

Interview of Will Greenley after EVE (Dover, DE)

 

JONESBORO (AR) FIRE DEPARTMENT

Jonesboro_fire

 

 

EMAIL received after class in Dover, DE
Hello Kip,
 
First, I am the “old” bald guy who sat in the front of the class in front of the podium and had a brain freeze on the last test question. Believe me I took in a lot and plan to pass it on.
 
I know I completed your “class” survey, however, I just wanted to say again that your class was FANTASTIC and WELL PAST DUE FOR THE FIRE/EMS COMMUNITY!  It is my sincere hope that folks wake up to this important issue that faces all first responders and is only (not to be pessimistic) going to get worse. Really would have liked to have had more time to absorb everything, but it was what it was. You did a STELLAR job in your instruction, especially with the given time restraints.  You are an OUTSTANDING instructor as you  more importantly TAUGHT us!  I had the “H” ASI with my MOS in the army and specialized in small arms instruction, range operations and land navigation.
 
I come from a long time frame and have the advantage of seeing things from a different perspective than many of the young set. Not to take  anything away from them, but experience does make it a different complexion.  Given the knowledge that you gave me over the last few days last evening I reflected back on some of my harried situations that I had experienced in the mid 1970’s (one of them being shot at on a call and had to be rescued by LE) while performing my EMS missions and analyzed what I could have done differently and mistakes that I had made.  Of course “we” were never trained for what to do in case of a violent encounters.
 
I have already started brow beating some of my peers for not attending this course and encouraging them to take it if it ever comes up again in our area. The mind set is “I already know what to do” is dangerous and computes to complacency.
 
Thanks again and good luck with your back operation and please continue with your work!
 
God Speed!
Jeffrey L. Monaco
Lewes Fire Department, Inc.
Lewes, DE.

An Emergency Department nurse from a large urban trauma center wrote the response below to this NURSE.com article on violence.

 

I want to thank you for your April 7, 2014 article bringing attention to the problem of violence in the ER, the fear of nurses working there, the lack of training, and the tendency not to report assaults. What nurse have to realize is that violence isn’t just “part of the job” and that crossing the threshold of the ER door (or any hospital door for that matter) does not strip us of our civil rights. Most training provided teaches “de-escalation” which is simply verbal skills to try to defuse the angry party. Training usually neglects to teach us what to do when the situation turns violent, leaving staff to react however they will, and leaving the nurse in danger of injury and the facility at risk for litigation. OSHA mandates employers train for known hazards, and yet facilities continue to stick their heads in the sand on this issue, when this type of training is more likely to be needed than our annual fire extinguisher check offs.  I am proud to say that my facility has started using a program called “Escaping Violent Encounters for Healthcare” that was developed by a company called DT4EMS. We teach our staff how to recognize a potentially dangerous situation, avoid it, and then should the worst happen, how to escape the violent encounter.  The program teaches that there is a difference between a patient and an attacker, and empowers nurses to remove themselves from danger, allow security and law enforcement to do their job, so we can safely focus on ours. The class stresses the importance of reporting, and we teach our employees to use the hospital address to keep their homes safe. The class is causing an amazing culture change, and people who were looking for new jobs say they now feel safe to stay. It’s wonderful to see.  Nurses can take the class on their own if their facility won’t offer it, and I think it is one of the most valuable classes an ER nurse can take.

 

Senior Fire Instructor Matthew Gajdos (Dover, DE)

Georgia EMS (CEU Approval)
GA_CEU_Approval

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

June 23, 2012
 
Dear DT4EMS,
As a street provider for over 20 years I have been assaulted many times. Although left bloody and bruised on some of them, I luckily have never lost a days work to them. As a supervisor and regional manager I have filled out a many 1st report workman’s comp claims reports. As President of the Arkansas EMS Association I get told about EMS Provider assaults monthly. As a former police officer and SWAT medic I have taken a few hand to hand combat classes, but non like the course at DT4EMS.
 
On my last day working full time in Pine Bluff, Arkansas I was assaulted in the back of the ambulance. The police were called, on there arrival I explained the situation to the primary officer (who was a fellow SWAT member). To my surprise he asked “What do you want me to do about it?”, I exploded and told him I wanted him to be charged with assault. To make a long story short the assailant received a fine and probation.
 
It is a shame that our EMS providers are put in harms way daily, and the “It’s just part of the job” attitude happens every day. As stated in your course, if I was at any other job my assailant would have received a harsher punishment. We as EMS providers are selling our self’s short accepting this and not fighting for our rights. Upper management should be ashamed of what they are letting happen to there employees. And the court system needs to open it’s eyes that EMS providers should receive the same consideration as the rest of the public in the justice system.
 
As President of the AEMTA I have received several emails form our members about how “awesome” your course is. After taking DT4EMS/Fire I understand what they were talking about, the course was “awesome” and filled with information I have never seen in my 20 years. As an Asst. Chief of the Watson Chapel Fire Department I now have a better understanding of what to do when one of my personnel is assaulted. As a emergency provider I feel more confident that I will be able to defend my self in a hostile situation. DT4EMS is probably the best course I have ever taken, and should be required for all emergency personnel including law enforcement in my opinion. And if given the opportunity will take your course again as a refresher. And services and departments are missing the boat when it comes to preparing their personnel for the environment that we work in.
 
Again thanks for one of the greatest courses I have ever taken, and for changing the way I respond to calls every day to ensure I go home to my family. If you find your self in Sothern Arkansas come by and see us. And look forward to seeing you all again.
 
Sincerely,
Asst. Chief Dwayne Aalseth NREMT-P/IC
President Arkansas EMT Association

 

 

From Lee Schwartzberg

My Name is Lee…. Before becoming a DT4EMS instructor, I was beyond a shadow of a doubt part of the cultural problem plaguing EMS for decades; I even made stupid jokes about 02 therapy “Techniques”.

Since becoming a DT4EMS instructor, my eyes have been opened and my mindset has changed, an epiphany if you will. You see, I am a lifetime Martial Arts practitioner, a 10 year combat veteran of the U.S.M.C., I also taught Marine Corps Martial Arts while in the Marines. I am also a 10yr EMS veteran. I am not telling you this to impress you, but rather to impress upon you, that If I can see the need for a cultural change and consciously make the effort to educate myself on the four main areas of concern;

 1) The Mind   2) The Street   3) The Media    4) The Courtroom, then so can you.  I thought I knew what it meant to be “Safe” on a scene. Man was I dead wrong!!  I am extremely proud to be a DT4EMS instructor, and spread the message that “It is not OK to be assaulted on the job, ever”. Now I get to teach and train everyone who wants to learn how to protect them from a Violent Encounter.

Imagine if you will for one moment….. Never feeling helpless, having an arsenal of responses, not only before, but during, and after a Violent Encounter. Knowing you can defend yourself from not only the physical attack but from the Media and the Courtroom as well. If I can change or save just one life it will be well worth my investment into DT4EMS. 

You can found out more about Lee at his Facebook Page

 

 

Virginia Office of EMS

From Brett Peine – MSSU Paramedic Instructor

MSSU Letter of rec

Hello Everyone,

My name is David Ray, and I work for Marion County Ambulance District in Northeast Missouri. I am also a police officer and own a small business teaching CCW, defensive weapon training, as well as unarmed self defense techniques.

I have been to countless training seminars, as well as train the trainer courses. In December I attended the E.V.E trainer course as well as Advanced Trainer. I had assumed this would be just another training course I needed to jump through a few hoops for to get my cert so I could come home and train my people. I sure was wrong.

The mental approach to this material was so refreshing and invigorating to me that I found myself excited and motivated for the first time in years.
This is the first training I have ever been to that I consider to be truly defensive. All other classes I had attened, and even taught myself, all focused on defensive tactics and techniques “until”. What I mean by “until” is..you do a few moves until you see an opening, and then attempt to injure your attacker with a few more moves attempting to dole out “payback”.

E.V.E. truly focuses on defending yourself and removing yourself from the situation as soon as possible, which obviously is a win. There is no need to stick around and try to do anything at all. Simply remove yourself from the incident sooner, rather than stick around to inflict punitive damage, or perhaps risk further injury to yourself. Simply put, its all part of the needed culture change.

We are not here to assault people, and at the same time we are not here to be assaulted. Very simple priciples and tactics can actually give US the upper hand while working the street, even when coming in contacg with someone that may have less than honorable intentions in store for us. It also keeps us sharp and alert for one of the six D’s that may not set out with the intention of harming us, rather allowing us to not be in position(s) for that to happen.

The things I learned have made me rethink my entire approach to self defense, and I am fortunate to have been one of few that will now be waiving the flag for culture change by training healthcare providers to do the same.
“Big Dave” Ray

David RayDavid Ray

 

Here is an email I received regarding the first class David Ray (above) and the team from MCAD taught:

Sir,
I am writing you this email to express my thoughts and opinions of the DT4EMS class taught this weekend. I attended the basic DT4EMS class both Saturday and Sunday. The class started promptly both days and did not run over on time. Lunch was provided on site both days, which was great for time management. On to the class.

Instructors- All three instructors, Daniel Licavoli, David Ray, and Shane Jaeger did a phenomenal job explaining the material, demonstrating techniques, and answering questions. They look professional in their shirts and were very confident in their skills as instructors. They presented the material for the class in a way that was exciting and informative. We had class for eight hours both days with little more than a 30 minute lunch break. I could not believe that eight hours of class could go by so quickly without taking breaks. The class was kept on tract and focused at all times by all instructors. All skills were closely and meticulously observed (and corrected if necessary) by all of the instructors.

Material- The material taught in this Basic DT4EMS class was very easy to learn and even more easily applied in application. The defensive tactics taught will not only keep the employee safe, but will also create as little harm to the attacker as possible. This course took baby steps to slowly bring all the different steps of this program together. It takes what you know about fighting before the class and re-trains you to become a proficient defensive healthcare provider. The class was ran smoothly and all the paperwork was in order and issued at the beginning of class. The test was very focused and helped to accurately assess the information given during the two-day course. The equipment was TOP NOTCH! I felt very safe in practice and in live training with the provided gear.

Overall- I can not explain to you how much information I obtained from this class. I feel safer and more prepared as a paramedic in the field to deal with a potential attacker. I now know about certain situation I should never even put myself into and I believe that is one of the most important parts of this course. Recognition of danger is a key to personal safety. I would really like to see this class made mandatory for all full time personnel. This class will save someone from being hurt of killed at Marion County Ambulance District. I have been in fire and EMS for eight years now and this is absolutely the best hour-for-hour class I have ever had the privilege of attending. I would highly recommend this class to all employees. I will be the first person to sign up for the advanced class when it is made available. Thank you for supporting us as employees and backing such an effective and educational program.

Seth Martin
NREMT – Paramedic
Marion County Ambulance District

DT4EMS’ Kip Teitsort received the Arkansas Traveler Award for teaching EVE in Arkansas.
Arkansas Traveler

From Assistant Chief Don Tomnitz of Eureka Fire

Don Tomnitz

 

Kate_DT4EMS

A letter from Brian Bailey- Hospital Security and now DT4EMS Instructor!

Over the past year I’ve changed and developed as a person and a professional a great deal. This influx of transformation was due to a unique learning experience from a unique man I first encountered in a small hospital in a small southern Missouri town.

To understand the sum of my metamorphosis one must first understand the equation of my past and present. Since I was about 15 years old my life has been surrounded and enriched by martial arts. I can’t say for sure what exactly started this fascination although it may or may not be related to being the world’s smallest 7th grader. I started training in Tang Soo Do, a Korean style and a year later moved to a traditional Japanese style, Shorin-Ryu in which I spent several years perfecting an elaborate way of getting my ass kicked in a real fight.

When I graduated and left for an out of state university in a small Texas town I found myself with nothing but Tae Kwon Do to fill the gap. The instructor and the material was not what I was looking for. How can I put this nicely? Let’s just say I swear I thought I heard him telling this blond kid to “sweep the leg”. Those few hours in Tae Kwon Do have led to my distaste for the style to this day, and stands as a testament to how crucial the attitude and character of a teacher is.

I learned some unique combat and unarmed skills when I joined the U.S. Army and started training as a corrections MP. After my first week on the job I quickly honed the verbal conflict resolution skills I already had to a fine edge. Being surrounded by armed and deranged men that have already proven their capacity and willingness to commit murder was a strong motivator.
In 2011 I started working as a security guard at a small hospital with a small security staff. Before and after the Army I found myself in several security jobs and wasn’t expecting much in the way of training from this one. What I found was a school of true self-defense unlike any I had ever experienced before. I found a new perspective on self-defense, educating and of life itself. I found DT4EMS.

I found Dave Jones and Kip Teitsort. Dave, my boss, immediately started teaching me the basic E.V.E. principles. I was immediately impressed with the effectiveness and straightforwardness of what I was learning but nothing could have prepared me for what I was about to discover. I took the 16 hour basic E.V.E class and like every other student I’ve come to know since, I was left sore, impressed and wanting much more. Kip was bottled energy. I can’t remember enjoying a classroom more. His passion for teaching this material was so copious it was transferable. My first thought after finishing the class was: why the hell didn’t the Army teach me this? I was given a two day hand-to-hand training class and then dropped into perhaps the most dangerous non-combat environment possible. With all my martial arts training, all the time spend in Dojo’s and in tournaments and this was the first real self-defense class I’d ever taken. I knew that this was information that needed to make its way to the people of this world that willingly face danger every day to keep others safe. Kip’s ardor for getting the information out was so intense it instantly impressed on me the necessity to do the same.

I was fortunate enough to take the advanced and instructor course. It was a fascinating experience to again be presented with information presented in a way that I had never before experienced. This time it was how to be an educator. I was an OC instructor for the State of Colorado, and had taught several other subjects over my career, but I learned more about adult education from Kip than from all my experience and college combined.

Dave had been an instructor in EVE for several years before hiring me. I’ve found that the program’s success has created an environment in the hospital that leaves me stumped for examples for my own classes. The longstanding and prevalent attitude of “being attacked is just part of the job” was cleaved out of this hospitals institutional schema long before I was hired. The staff at Cox Medical Center Branson knows that no violent behavior will be tolerated.
DT4EM’S Escaping Violent Encounter’s class has been a positive influence in both my life and in the working environment of our Hospital. There is no comparison that I have found, past or present, to the material presented in the course in value to service professionals.

Brian Bailey
Security Officer, Security
CoxHealth
Brian.Bailey@coxhealth.com
Phone: (417) 335-7399

 

From Tommy Goran regarding EVE4EMS/Fire

T_Goran

An email I was CC’d regarding DT4EMS’ EVE. Posted with permission of B. Peine.

 

From Jeff McMullen (Denver Health Paramedic Division- Education)

E.V.E Initial
As most of us are aware, violence directed towards EMS and in-house healthcare workers is on the rise. It has long been recognized as a risk among the line providers in both urban and rural systems. Sadly, we also are aware that most of us are woefully under trained in both awareness and how to respond when it comes to this problem. More frustrating is the fact that it is rarely recognized at all by those who hold sway over the decision to prepare for it. Even those who do recognize the problem often seem to be hesitant when it comes to the need to prepare for the eventuality of dealing with hostility or being assaulted while on thejob. As a medic in a high volume urban 911 system I have been afforded the privilege of being assaulted more than once during the last 17 years. Although I have always tried to exercise the greatest caution when dealing with potential violence or dangerous scenes, you can never have enough tools when it comes tokeeping your hide intact, and when someone comes along with superior tools to do so, you should give those tools (and that person) some serious consideration.

I have recently returned from the 40 DT4EMS Initial/Instructor course in West Virginia and think the experience merits some appreciation. The class was broken down into two parts. The first two days (16 hours) were the Escaping Violent Encounters (E.V.E) Initial, this amounts to what is basically your entry level “provider” course. The following three days were the 24 hour Instructor Candidate course. This allows those who have successfully completed the 24 hours to teach the program at their facility or agency under the close supervision of DT4EMS (more on this later). The class was scheduled for 40 straight hours, 0800-1700. We got out early a couple of days though, 1657 or so instead of the scheduled 1700. It was, without a doubt, a very busy and labor intensive week.

Days 1-2
E.V.E Initial
From the moment class begins you are left with no reservation whatsoever that Kip Teitsort (pronounced tea-sort) is passionate about keeping me, you andeveryone else on the job safe. The responses to attacks he teaches are simple, yet effective, and I feel they would be very helpful if you ever get on the wrong side of bad and find yourself in need of them. Some other “products” that are marketed for use by EMS are terrific in that if you are sued secondary to using them in good faith the international corporation behind them will gladly defend you in court (good luck even finding their website after years of use of said product though). One of the multitudes of great things about DT4EMS is this; the only way you can use the techniques is in good faith. There is no submission, joint lock, pressure point, blows to the lateral neck or anything of that nature that is used to control a patient or attacker. Nothing taught can be used punitively, even if youwanted to. All responses to attack are just that, responses to attack. There are no bastardized LEO applications that are watered down or abridged for use by EMS. Everything is geared specifically for EMS (although Kip is a cop, he also happens to be a paramedic) If someone tries to hit you, try not to be there, if you find that you are there, Kip will show you a thing or two about how not to continue being there. In my humble opinion, and I have some experience with this sort of thing, the techniques are just what we in EMS need, simple, effective methods of protecting ourselves if the wheels come off. Even after all the cool, effective and ridiculously simple responses to attack, that is not the best part of days 1-2.

If you were to break down acts of physical aggression into 2 parts, the 1st would be recognition or understanding that something is about to happen to you. The 2nd would be the attack itself. Kip would prefer you never get to step 2 and find yourself in need of a method to avoid a punch that’s already left the gate or someone wrapping their hands around your delicate throat. That’s what step 1 is all about, avoiding the conflict altogether. We all know that it is not always possible to avoid conflict, but given a few tools help recognize where conflict may lie or maybe something you personally can do to avoid sparking conflict goes a long way towards your safety. From pre-arrival things to consider to on scene indicators of potential violence to tips on speaking to people it is all covered. One point that I thought particularly valuable was Kip’s assertion that good customer service goes a long way to keeping yourself out of a drama. There is more to theinitial course that I have not touched on here such as loads of open source material proving there is a need for this training, behavior in the courtroom, mindset during violent encounters, but I am running out of typing steam and don’t wish anyone to be discouraged by the length of this post.

Overall and without a doubt I feel that this course is just about as good as it gets when it comes to preparing EMS personnel for violent encounters. Depending on the organization there are more than enough things we are required to train for that we will likely never encounter and yet those things are mandatory. After all, when was the last time someone was killed in a hospital fire? The last time I, or a co-worker, was assaulted on the street? That I can recall.

Days 3-5
E.V.E. I/C
After days 1-2 you have more than a solid idea what this is all about. You know that assault on EMS is very real. You know what you might keep an eye out for that might clue you in to a bad situation. You know that you need to be prepared for assault, you know how to speak, you know how to stand, where to stand, what is appropriate and what is not, and what to do if the above does not keep you out of the donnybrook. You also know how best to document assault, present yourself in court and loads of other useful stuff. What you may not have noticed during this time is Kip’s exceptional ability to teach you all of these things. I feel a bit red in the face that I did not notice how good he is until I had to put myself in his shoes. Now, don’t get me wrong, there was at no point any doubt about his ability to teach, it’s just that he really turns it up during the last 3 days. I have, or have had, an instructor cert for most things out there, not one of those classes holds a candle to the way Kip conducts his instructor candidate course. Although he was still a bit of a jokester, he was defiantly a different guy. If you were not getting something quite right he explained that to you, and he did it in a way that you felt really good about. On day 3 we got homework. You may have to teach chapter 3 for instance, the rub is you don’t know which part of chapter 3. The next day he finds a spot somewhere in the ppt, calls your name and you get up and teach it. The class is given 5 or 6 points on which to evaluate you and when Kip has had enough you’re done. First the class is given the chance to discuss what was done well and what could have used some work. Then Kip gives you his ideas on what were done well and what might be improved. It seems that no matter how bad your presentation was or how much you need to work on, the praise always outweighed the criticism. When that bit is said and done he does some more lecture of the same topic explaining all the while what it is he wants to achieve and how best to deliver it. After the lecture portion you get to teach the class 1 or 2 of the techniques you learned during thin initial course. Again, Kip lets you go until you are done or he thinks it’s time to show you how to do it just a little bit better. This goes on for 2 solid days, all the while you are learning more about the tactics/techniques and how better to deliver the course. At the end of the I/C course I, and the fellow I traveled with decided that not only is Kip a top shelf instructor, but that it was the best instructor course either of us has attended. It is the only one I have been to where you have to prove that you can teach the content while making you more solid in the material all around.

Going back to the bit I typed miles ago about being able to teach the course under the close supervision of DT4EMS upon successful completion; I want to clarify something. Kip seems to be very particular about how you deliver the course content. In my opinion this has nothing to do with Kip. It also has nothing to do with his ego or any other perceived reason. I think the reason he maintains such tight quality control is that we deserve quality tools to keep us safe. It seems that Kipcould care less about Kip; he just wants us all to return home the same way we left. What this all boils down to is that I have not been involved in something so relevant in a very long time and I wish everyone felt the way I do. Thank you for your patience.

JEFF McMullen (Denver Paramedic Division

 Now take a look at what one of Jeff McMullen’s students wrote about his experience with Jeff’s teaching:
I think this is an EXCELLENT idea and should be something more of us get. If not in our schools then certainly when we enter the workforce.
Before you get your 5-11s in a twist hear me out.
I am a former Marine, trained in hand to hand combat, defending myself was never really something I was worried about until I took this class. Was I schooled that I wasn’t as capable with my hands as I believed I was? No, in fact, I was schooled that the way I had been trained may very well severely injure someone unintentionally. Marine Corps hand to hand is all about aggressive tactics, how to hurt people enemies, not how to be truly defensive.
What’s the difference you might ask… ask Alan Miller a former Denver Paramedic who was sentenced to 12 years in prison for assaulting a patient in the back of the ambulance. (http://firegeezer.com/2009/11/14/denver-paramedic-sentence-to-12-years-for-assaulting-patient/)
READ the rest of this students BLOG Here

Absolutely means the world to me when someone takes the time to send a message/email regarding one of our DT4EMS EVE classes! Strong work Denver crew!!
Denver_DT4EMS

Arkansas EMT Association (AEMTA)

AEMTA

 

Missouri EMS Association (MEMSA)

Missouri EMS Association

A comparison:

GDE Error: Error retrieving file - if necessary turn off error checking (404:Not Found)

Joint Commission:

GDE Error: Error retrieving file - if necessary turn off error checking (404:Not Found)

Branson Fire:

GDE Error: Error retrieving file - if necessary turn off error checking (404:Not Found)

Missouri POST Approval:
POST Approval

“I really enjoy all of the hands on experience. Kip not only tells you what and how to do something, but he lets you practice until you have it down. Kip has a very strong passion for self-defense and for sharing his experience and knowledge with others. This makes you want to learn”.
— Jeff Ward, Paramedic

 

“….the information provided makes me feel more prepared to handle myself with a questionable patient or situation”.
— L. Barrett NREMT-P, Ozark County Ambulance District

Vital Link EMS

Vital Link

 

DT4EMS Success Story Received 1/26/14

It was a clear, cool, Saturday afternoon.  We were paged out to respond with Fire at the request of PD for a “domestic”.  Being one of the “D’s” we staged until police said it was “safe”.  We parked in front, by the engine, and moved towards the house.  While I always look for cover and concealment as I approach, something made me more cautious (human animal theory maybe?)  We were following the fire department personnel into the house.  We had come in through the car port.  On the ground, in front of the car, was a black, double edged, knife lying on the ground.  When we entered the house a police officer was standing by an older woman in the kitchen.  We told him about the knife and he said he’d take care of it “later”.  Our patient, a woman in her middle age, had been in an argument with her mother over pain pills.  She was sitting on a couch in the living room, being interviewed by the police.  The officer was relaxed, but not happy with her, based on his short replies.  We assessed her and she said was had tried to kill herself, so we had to take her.  

She wanted to change clothes before we took her.  As she had no immediate life threats we said that was fine, but we were going to stay with her.  She went to her closet and went for some boxes.  We told her there weren’t any clothes there, grabbed a robe, and started her towards the ambulance.  We walked out through the kitchen and into the carport.  I had noticed the knife was still there.  I had been behind the patient, more to her right side, with my hand gently on her upper arm (elbow control).  She swiftly stepped forward, bent over, grabbed the knife, and started to turn towards me and lunge.  I side stepped, double tapped her arm, and caught her wrist with my right hand.  I had my left on her shoulder.  She was smaller than me, and with an arm bar/elbow control I stepped forward and turned her.  As all this was happening I started yelling “knife”.  I had moved her forward towards a couch that was against the wall.  I was able to do a takedown, pinning her on the couch until she dropped the knife.  Both police officers were inside, but came running.  Everything had happened so quickly, that even with me yelling knife, the fire fighters hadn’t even moved.  They had never been through an EVE class, and you could see the stunned surprise in their eyes.  

We ended up transporting her because of her suicidal behavior.  After arriving at the ED she went ballistic, screaming obscenities, and yelling to let her go.  She was trying to jump off our stretcher, and kick and bite.  I was able to grab and arm and keep her from falling off the stretcher until we got it lowered.  No less than 12 nurses came running to jump on her.  With no training I think it was just a free-for-all and that many people just made the situation worse.  We finally got her moved to the hospital bed and they sedated her.  

I work on an ambulance part time.  My full time job is teaching at the local community college.  I work a truck because I love it, and love helping people.  Even as a martial artist with nearly thirty years of training, I found the EVE course extremely valuable.  The “techniques” we learned in class were sound based on what I’ve learned in my martial arts training.  The “tactics” we learned were invaluable.  Having spent years developing self defense courses, and looking at what was available, I found DT4EMS to be the most complete course available.  No other course covered all four areas, and without training for all 4 areas that DT4EMS offers, the other programs were incomplete, and potentially dangerous.  

I won’t say that the years of training didn’t help today, but because of what I learned in my EVE for EMS class I’m going home to my wife and four children without a hole in my stomach.  And nothing is more important than going home safely to my family.  I thank Kip Teitsort and DT4EMS for saving me today.

 

” I have been to 3 different EMS defense classes and this one by far surpasses the others.”
— G. Raney

“It was interesting to me to see these techniques really work, especially with petite individuals like me….. By using the steps taught, I was able to bring down individuals much larger than I”.
— P. Fuller, NREMT-P, Willow Springs Ambulance District

“I am the Ambulance Administrator For Ozarks Medical Center and I think that any Service or ER dept. that is not using or going to use DT4EMS are headed in the wrong direction in healthcare. I went to the class for 2 days and learned more than I had in 12 years on the truck. I took a beating like everyone else and it was worth every second of it . I can’t wait to do it again.”
— Farrell R.Graves, EMT-P / Ambulance Administration, OMC

“I just took the DT4EMS class 07/20/05 in West Plains, MO and WOW it was awesome!!! KIP and BRUCE you guys are GREAT at what you do and how you teach!! I have been in EMS for 17yrs now, 10 as a medic and I learned more in 2 days about self defense than I thought possible. I feel so much more confident now about my and my partners personal safety. THANK YOU !!!! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK GUYS!!”
— Student, Class of 07/20/05 – 07/21/05

“I just attended the class with Kip and Bruce as instructors and I am still stoked!!! This is Paramedic/LEO talking to EMS/ER in a no nonsense hands on practical approach. I studied karate for 2 years and was completely blown away by the simplicity and practicality of this program. We were taught mental, physical and legal aspects of everything. This class made me view things from a different angle that may very well save my butt one day. The FIST suit was a humbling experience. No fluff of fancy crap here. No macho crap either. Most seminars I retain 1 maybe 2 points. Here I found myself watching the DVD when I got home to plant the principles deep. I am looking forward to any refreshers offered.”
— Sam Voshell, Student – Class of 07/20/05 – 07/21/05

 

Letter from police DT instructor and executive protection instructor Jerry MacCauley

Jerry MacCauley

 

“This is hands down the best course available for EMS. Covered very simple, but very effective methods of distraction. By the end of the 2d day, a layperson will have these methods down. Be aware — this is not a self-defense course taught by some ninja, but by a paramedic/police officer/martial arts instructor who has been there (in the EMS setting) and understands the ins and outs of the job and what we all experience out there (and also what we MAY experience). You take this course, and you will learn ways to give yourself and your partner at least a few seconds of distraction in order to make an escape from a dangerous or potentially dangerous scene. Do yourself a favor…check this class out and talk to your supervisor about getting it in your area. Rural EMS has long needed a course like this. Props to the instructors for taking the time to put this together. A very enjoyable experience…with CEU’s to boot!”
— Steven Duffel, Student – Class of 07/20/05 – 07/21/05

 

“Kip’s knowledge and demonstration of all skills is amazing. And the fact that each instructor, especially him will stop everything and go one on one with you so you can grasp the material and skill better. EVERYONE should go to the (DT4EMS) class.”
— Nate Bean, EMT, EMT-P Student SCCC – Class of 02/15/06 – 02/16/06

 

“This was a very awesome class, I wish I had it a few weeks ago to help deal with a patient……”
— Wendy, EMT-P Student SCCC – Class of 02/15/06 – 02/16/06

 

“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful….”
— Tanya, EMT, SCHA EMT-P Student – Class of 02/15/06 – 02/16/06

 

“I personally feel that every EMS System should have this (DT4EMS) Course as a requirement for both EMT and the Paramedic……”
— Student – Class of 02/15/06 – 02/16/06 (course eval)

 

“I was a former LEO, I went through defense training. I thought this (DT4EMS) would be like that, Boy was I wrong…….I was very impressed at the skills taught, how simple they truly are…”
— Steven E. Little, EMT, EMT-P Student SCCC – Class of 02/15/06 – 02/16/06

 

“This course gave me a clear technique to handle situations I have been afraid to think about……………I would recommend this class to anyone interested in doing the right thing in threatening situations.”
— R. Griffin

 

“I would recommend this course because it teaches defense, not fighting.”
— D. Hatfield

 

“… will be helpful in security and EMS”
— M. Vernon

 

“Excellent instruction”
— R. Erickson

 

“There were no dull moments” I would recommend this course because it is important, especially as a female EMT.”
— K. Harper